Mayor Watson, with members of the selection committee, chose 15 residents to recognize with the 2020 Order of Ottawa, and one to receive the Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching.

The 2020 inductees are Rev. Dr. Anthony Bailey, Donald Ross Bradley, Dale Craig, Dr. Rouba Fattal, Sylvio A. Gravel, Paul Hindo, Barry J. Hobin, Barbara MacKinnon, Fiona McKean, Bob Monette, David H. O’Malley, Bruce G. Roney, Bharat Rudra, Vineet Srivastava and Joe M. Thottungal. Jean-Sorphia Guillaume received the Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching, which recognizes the contributions of an amateur coach who exemplifies leadership and commitment.

This year’s Order of Ottawa ceremony has been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic and recipients will be honoured officially at a ceremony in 2021.

The Order of Ottawa recognizes exceptional residents who have made a significant contribution in a professional capacity in many areas of city life, including arts and culture, business, community service, education, entrepreneurship, public service, labour, communications and media, science, sports and entertainment, or other fields that benefit the residents of Ottawa.

Mayor Watson and City Council established this prestigious civic award in 2012. Recipients are chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Mayor, City Clerk, Chief of Police, Chief of Protocol, City Archivist and Chief Executive Officer of the Ottawa Public Library.

For more information about the Order of Ottawa, please visit the Awards and Recognition page on

Biographies of recipients

“These are challenging times for everyone, and it is important to acknowledge the contributions of people in our community who are making a difference in the lives of others through their professional accomplishments,” said Mayor Jim Watson. “The 2020 inductees into the Order of Ottawa are a group of tremendously accomplished residents whose leadership, creativity and hard work serve as an inspiration for us all.”
Mayor Jim Watson, City of Ottawa